Equality Turned Simple

201303-28-marriage-equality-cats-5

Recently, I read the book Animal Farm which is a story about war and the discrimination between others through the eyes of ordinary farm animals instead of humans.  The struggle for equality was present throughout the entire book which made me wonder how we could find ways to be more equal through simple actions.

equality

Now this does not just mean human to human equality, it could be human to animal equality or anything that we do in an unfair manner that you wish could be changed.  I wanted to personally feel like I was giving an animal the same chance at life as I have.  What’s something simple I could do that is still making a change and impacting the way I look at things everyday?  Eat vegetarian.  Now as I am a meat lover this transition is not easy.  Changing can be a slow and step by step process but it can be done.  I’m starting first by cutting meat out of at least one meal a day.  Maybe I can have a full vegetarian day or decide to pick vegetables over meat once every week.  If I am feeling daring I could even try out a vegan meal or look into vegan snacks.  Why should I contribute to the end of a life and feel that it is okay to consume something that had its own place on this Earth that we live on.  An improvement on equality on your everyday life can be found anywhere.  Treat your younger and older siblings, parents, and relatives with the same amount of respect. Demand to be treated the same as others at school, home, events.   Giving every movie a chance whether they get a good review or not is even a form of attempting to avoid bias and striving towards being equal.  In other words I would be trying to give animals respect because being in their position would be unbearable and almost unimaginable.  Eating a vegetarian meal or trying to get your parents to listen to you may not seem like a big enough deal, but it symbolizes much more than eating some carrots or being able to go out.  Society is not perfect and unfair treatment can be seen everywhere.  Whether you make a large impact or a small one, it will be seen but mostly awaken something within you.

Leave a comment